Posts matching "by-hand-london"

Throwback to a Flora dress fail

October 24, 2016

Flora1

Having been without a sewing machine for more than a month, my sewing productivity is at an all-time low. I picked up knitting again but I’m very slow so I still don’t have anything new to show here. Now the only thing left to do is to show the pictures of this dress I made two years ago. Do you also have projects like this, which went so wrong, or left you so disappointed, that you procrastinate blogging them for weeks, months… years?

Read more

Sprout Patterns: a detailed review

July 14, 2016

Sprout11

Back in May, I was invited by my neighbors from Sprout Patterns to take a tour of the Spoonflower HQ, right next to where I live in North Carolina. If you don’t know Spoonflower yet, it is the leading company for on-demand printed fabric. Their website lets you pick a fabric quality and print your own design, or choose one in their gigantic design library. Sprout Patterns is one of the new services they offer, which launched last year. Its concept: combining the fabric printing capabilities of Spoonflower with a curated selection of indie patterns to offer customized sewing project kits. These come in the form of fabric yardage with pre-printed pattern pieces, that you just have to cut along the lines. At first I had mixed feelings about this idea. On the one side, I am generally skeptical about pre-cut fabric or patterns, such as the kits offered by the French company Eglantine et Zoé or the iron-on patterns from Made in Me Couture, as they prevent from making any sort of adjustments. On the other hand, I am super passionate about the intersection of sewing and technology (3D garment modeling, automated print/pattern/cutting layout generation, etc.). I was thus very curious to try their product first-hand, so when Nicole and Caroline offered to send me a project to review for free, I said yes!
Read more

Elisalex

January 2, 2016

IMG_7303_small

Happy new year! I hope you had a great new year’s eve and that you are as enthusiastic about 2016 as I am! As usual, I have several dozens of resolutions for the new year. One that involves this blog is that I’d like to get better at posting about my finished projects. Right now, I have a handful of dresses in my sewing room closet that are still waiting to be photographed, some I made over a year ago! The one I’m sharing today was finished last April.

Read more

Anna and me

August 4, 2015

Anna_IMG_6532

The wedding season continues! As my blogging schedule is very chaotic, I’m not showing you these dresses in the order I made them, but rather in the random order in which I manage to take pictures. After wedding number 1 in Virginia, wedding number 2 in Toulouse (where I wore the rockabilly cherries dress) and wedding number 3 in California, I went to Portland to attend wedding number 4. As far as weddings go, this one was pretty laid-back, so I had a lot of freedom when it came to my dress (as well as my hair, as you can see on the pictures as I recently dyed it blue..!). I went for a more casual one than for the others, with a By Hand London Anna dress in diamond-printed rayon.

Read more

Articles correspondant à "by-hand-london"

La robe Flora : retour sur un échec

24 October 2016

Flora1

Après maintenant un mois sans machine, ma productivité couture est au plus bas. J’ai beau m’être remise au tricot, j’avance à deux à l’heure et je n’ai toujours rien de neuf à vous montrer, si bien que j’en suis réduite à poster les photos de cette robe qui date d’il y a plus de deux ans. Est-ce que vous avez ça aussi, les projets qui se sont si mal passés, ou dont on est tellement déçu, qu’on laisse trainer le moment de les prendre en photo pendant des semaines, des mois… des années ?

Lire la suite

Sprout Patterns : revue détaillée

14 July 2016

Sprout11

Début mai, j’ai été invitée par mes voisins de Sprout Patterns à venir visiter la fabrique et les bureaux de Spoonflower, qui se trouvent être juste à côté de chez moi en Caroline du Nord. Spoonflower, si vous ne connaissez pas, c’est le pionnier de l’impression de tissu sur demande. Leur site permet de faire imprimer différents types de tissus ses propres motifs, ou un motif au choix de leur gigantesque catalogue. Le prix est conséquent, mais les possibilités en termes de créativité sont assez incroyables. Sprout Patterns est un de leurs nouveaux services, lancé l’an dernier. L’idée : combiner les possibilités d’impression customisées de Spoonflower avec une sélection de patrons de créateurs indépendants pour créer des projets en kit. On reçoit son tissu avec les lignes du patron déjà imprimées dessus, et il n’y a plus qu’à découper en suivant les lignes. J’étais assez partagée sur le concept au départ. D’un côté, je suis en général assez sceptique devant les patrons prédécoupés, comme par exemple les kits d’Eglantine et Zoé ou les patrons thermocollants de Made in Me Couture, car ils ne permettent pas d’ajuster le vêtement. D’un autre côté, l’intersection de la couture et de la technologie (modélisation de vêtements en 3D, génération automatique de motif, de patron ou de plan de coupe…) ça me passionne. J’étais donc très curieuse de tester le service par moi-même, et quand Nicole et Caroline m’ont proposé de m’envoyer gratuitement un projet de mon choix, j’ai sauté sur l’occasion !

Lire la suite

Elisalex

2 January 2016

IMG_7303_small

Bonne année ! J’espère que vous avez passé un bon réveillon et que vous êtes comme moi pleins d’entrain pour 2016 ! Comme tous les ans, j’ai une bonne trentaine de résolutions pour l’année qui commence. Une qui concerne ce blog, c’est que j’aimerais m’améliorer pour ce qui est de poster les photos de mes projets de couture. A l’heure actuelle, j’ai dans mon placard une petite dizaine de robes qui attendent toujours d’être prises en photo, dont certaines cousues il y a plus d’un an ! Celle que je vous montre aujourd’hui date d’avril dernier.

Lire la suite

Anna et moi

4 August 2015

Anna_IMG_6532

La série des mariages continue ! Comme mon organisation sur ce blog est très chaotique en ce moment, je ne vous présente pas du tout ces robes dans l’ordre, mais plutôt au hasard des séances photos. Après mariage n°1 en Virginie, mariage n°2 à Toulouse (celui de la robe à cerises) et mariage n°3 en Californie, c’est à Portland que je me suis rendue pour un mariage hipster. Ceci me laissant pas mal de liberté au niveau vestimentaire (comme capillaire d’ailleurs, puisque comme vous pouvez le remarquer je me suis teint les cheveux en bleu..!) j’ai opté pour une robe un peu moins habillée, avec une Anna de By Hand London en viscose à losanges.

Lire la suite