Posts matching "butterick"

In the rain

June 2, 2016

raindy_dress4

I haven’t been writing here as regularly as I had hoped to do, and yet I have many projects I would like to show you. Unfortunately, ever since I came back from my trip it has barely stopped raining: no way to get enough daylight to take proper pictures. Last Sunday I thought it was getting better, but as I was walking out the door, camera in hand, the rain started pouring again. Whatever, my blow-dry was ruined already so I went anyway…
Read more

Rockabilly Cherries

June 5, 2015

IMG_4917_small

I don’t remember if I mentioned it already, but this year for me is definitely wedding season: I’ll be attenting seven different weddings between April and October! Besides partying with my friends (and discovering the incredible differences between french and american weddings), it gives me the opportunity to sew and wear the retro party dresses that I usually cannot wear. Last year, I attended two weddings, and wore a new dress for each, so I felt like continuing the tradition. However, with SEVEN dresses, I’m starting to think I might have been overly ambitious… For the first wedding I attended, back in April, I made an Elisalex dress with three-quarters sleevees, but I haven’t had a chance to photograph it yet and now it’s out of season so I’m afraid I’ll have to wait until Fall to post about it. The second one took place in southern France at the end of May, so I figured I would need a sleeveless dress and decided for the Butterick by Gertie 5882.

Read more

Welcome to America

May 17, 2014

phil_dress1

That’s it, after several months waiting and doing endless paperwork, I finally left Paris and moved to the United States. So since I now live in a place where the weather is wonderful and there are beautiful backgrounds for taking pictures, I can show you my new dress…

Read more

Sew Dolly Clackett!

April 2, 2014

atomic_dress_largeur

If you read sewing blogs, I’m pretty sure you know Roisin from Dolly Clackett, a lady of wonderful style, who loves funky shoes and fit and flare dresses in crazy patterned fabrics. She’s made everything already: polka dots, gingham and florals of course, but also mushrooms, boats, Eiffel towers, world maps, comics, cowgirls, and that’s only a small selection! She’s really inspiring, and with her huge smile and funny blog posts, reading her always put me in a good mood, so she’s truly one of my favorite bloggers out there.

So when Sarah from Rhinestones and Telephones launched a dress contest à la Dolly Clackett to celebrate Roisin’s upcoming wedding, I just had to jump in!

Read more

Tea Dress

July 20, 2013

robe_tea_party_empiecementI feel so fancy in this dress! Join me for some tea?

Read more

Articles correspondant à "butterick"

Sous la pluie

2 June 2016

raindy_dress4
Ca fait encore un moment que je n’ai rien écrit par ici, et pourtant j’ai plein de projets que j’aimerais vous montrer. Hélas, depuis que je suis rentrée de voyage il n’a fait que pleuvoir: impossible d’avoir une belle luminosité pour aller prendre des photos. Dimanche dernier j’ai cru à une éclaircie, mais au moment de passer la porte, appareil sous le bras, la pluie s’est remise à tomber. Tant pis pour mon brushing, j’y suis allée quand même…
Lire la suite

Cerises Rockabilly

5 June 2015

IMG_4917_small

Je ne me rappelle plus si je l’ai déjà écrit ici, mais cette année pour moi c’est la saison des mariages : j’ai la chance d’être invitée à sept mariages différents entre Avril et Octobre ! En dehors de faire la fête avec mes amis (et de découvrir les différences incroyables entre mariages français et américains), ça me donne l’occasion parfaite pour coudre et porter les robes rétro un peu habillées que je ne pourrais pas sortir en temps normal. L’an dernier j’avais assisté à deux mariages et j’avais sorti une nouvelle robe pour chaque, du coup je me suis dit que j’allais perpétuer la tradition. Sauf qu’avec SEPT robes je commence à me dire que j’ai un peu sous-estimé l’ampleur de la tâche… Pour le premier mariage auquel je suis allée en Avril dernier, j’avais cousue une Elisalex à manches trois-quarts, mais je n’ai pas encore pu la prendre en photo et maintenant elle n’est plus de saison, donc je crains qu’il ne faille attendre l’automne pour la présenter ici. De retour en France fin mai pour le mariage de très bons amis à Toulouse (coucou Chacha !) je me suis dit qu’il fallait au contraire une robe pas trop chaude, donc je suis partie sur ce modèle à bretelles, le Butterick by Gertie 5882.

Lire la suite

Welcome to America

17 May 2014

phil_dress1

Ca y est, c’est fait, après de nombreuses péripéties j’ai enfin quitté Paris pour aller m’installer aux Etats-Unis. Alors comme là où j’habite maintenant il fait beau et il y a des jolis décors pour les photos, j’en profite pour vous montrer ma nouvelle robe…

Lire la suite

Sew Dolly Clackett !

2 April 2014

atomic_dress_largeur

Connaissez-vous Dolly Clackett ? C’est le blog de Roisin, une anglaise avec un style fabuleux, fan de chaussures colorées et de robes fit and flare* dans des tissus à motifs tous plus fous les uns que les autres. Elle a tout fait : pois, carreaux et fleurs bien sûr, mais aussi champignons, bateaux, tours Eiffel, cartes du monde, comics, cowgirls, et j’en passe ! Avec un grand sourire en prime, c’est un vrai bol d’inspiration et de bonne humeur, sans compter que sa façon d’écrire est souvent très drôle, bref il s’agit clairement d’un de mes blogs préférés.

* fit and flare = ajustées en haut et qui s’évasent en bas, tout ce que j’aime

Alors quand pour célébrer le mariage de Roisin, Sarah de Rhinestones and Telephones lance un concours de robes dans le style “Dolly Clackett”, je me devais de participer !

Lire la suite

Tea Party

20 July 2013

robe_tea_party_empiecement

Disclaimer : la robe qui va suivre n’a pas été réalisée depuis les États-Unis, oh que non. Couture, tricot, broderie, j’ai bien peur que tout cela passe complètement à la trappe pendant encore deux mois. C’est donc une robe qui date de mai dernier que je vous présente !

Lire la suite