Sewing and knitting cravings for 2018

December 31, 2017

2017 has been a weird year for me regarding sewing and knitting. On the one hand, I have been super productive: I’ve made many test garments and prototypes for Deer&Doe (including three Luzerne trench coats!), gifts for my family (a second Archer shirt for my sister, a Burda robe for my mom, and even a tablecloth), and lots of baby clothes (the Deauville/Brighton pants and suspenders and the Flax Light sweater have been this year’s MVPs). On the other hand, I haven’t been very motivated to sew for myself. I finished way fewer projects than usual, and published only 13 blog posts this year. I’m not putting myself down though, I know I still have to get used to my new lifestyle which includes spending 4 months a year in France, away from my sewing room, but I miss sewing just for fun. I’d like to experiment a bit more, and take the time to explore techniques or project types I am not used to, without setting hard deadlines or goals. So here’s what I’m excited about for the year to come 🙂

Read more

Flamingos obsession

December 27, 2017

I mentioned in the previous post my love for Telio fabrics. Here’s my latest favorite: this wonderful navy rayon voile with flamingo silhouettes in white with coral accents. Deep colors, a soft and drapey hand, and my favorite americana symbol (I think it’s time for a “flamingos” tag on this blog!), what more could I ask for? 🙂

Read more

Zeena in Barcelona

December 16, 2017

With the end of the year approaching quickly, it’s time for me to get out of hibernation and catch up on some projects from this summer! In particular I wanted to talk about this dress which was hands down my favorite from 2017 🙂

Read more

The Keflavik sweater

October 8, 2017

Aaah Keflavik… The pretty name of this sweater unfortunately doesn’t come from the pattern or from the yarn, neither of which are Icelandic, but from where it’s been knitted. This is the project that was with me that time I ended up stranded in Keflavik aiport, trying to fly home from France, and I had to wait five long hours while the entire airport got evacuated and everybody had to go through security again. All of this because a plane landed at the wrong terminal… Typically the type of situations where I’m happy to have a knitting project with me!

Read more

Deer&Doe: the Azara skirt

September 24, 2017

After my Givre dress, let me introduce my version of the Azara skirt, the second pattern of the new Deer&Doe collection, which I sewed shortly after the release.

Read more

Mes envies couture et tricot pour 2018

31 December 2017

2017 a été une année un peu bizarre en termes de couture et tricot pour moi. D’un côté, ma productivité a été au top : j’ai cousu de nombreux tests et prototypes pour Deer&Doe (dont trois trenchs Luzerne !), des cadeaux pour ma famille (une deuxième chemise Archer pour ma sœur, une robe de chambre Burda pour ma maman, et même une nappe), et une ribambelle de vêtements pour bébés (le pantalon à bretelles Deauville/Brighton et le pull Flax Light ont été les grosses réussites de l’année). D’un autre côté, je n’ai pas été très motivée pour coudre pour moi. J’ai fini bien moins de projets que d’habitude, et publié seulement 13 posts de blog dans l’année. Je ne suis pas en train de m’auto-flageller, hein, je sais qu’il me faut encore m’habituer à mon nouveau rythme et à passer 4 mois par an en France, loin de ma salle de couture, mais cela me manque de coudre juste pour le fun. J’aimerais bien expérimenter un peu plus, prendre le temps d’explorer des techniques ou des types de projets dont je n’ai pas l’habitude, sans me mettre la pression pour autant. Voici donc mes envies couture et tricot pour l’année à venir 🙂

Lire la suite

Camille passion flamants roses

27 December 2017

Je vous parlais dans le post précédent de mon amour pour les tissus Telio. Voici donc le tissu coup de cœur en question : un superbe voile de viscose bleu marine, orné de silhouettes de flamants roses blanches avec un peu de corail en accent. Des couleurs profondes, une douceur à tomber, et mon animal fétiche (allez j’inaugure le tag “flamingos” sur ce blog pour l’occasion !), que demander de plus ? 🙂

Lire la suite

Zeena in Barcelona

16 December 2017

Avec la fin de l’année qui approche, il est temps de sortir un peu de mon hibernation pour rattraper quelques projets de cet été ! En particulier j’avais bien envie de parler de cette robe qui est sans conteste ma préférée de 2017 🙂

Lire la suite

Le Pull Keflavik

8 October 2017

Aaah Keflavik… Le joli nom de ce pull ne vient malheureusement ni du modèle ni de la laine, pas islandaise pour deux sous, mais de là où il a été tricoté. En effet c’est cet ouvrage qui m’a accompagnée quand je me suis retrouvée coincée à l’aéroport de Keflavik, Islande, lors d’un voyage transatlantique, à devoir patienter durant cinq longues heures le temps que l’aéroport entier soit évacué, puis que tout le monde repasse les contrôles de sécurité. Tout ça pour une sombre histoire d’avion arrivé au mauvais terminal… C’est dans ce genre de situations que je suis contente d’avoir un tricot avec moi !

Lire la suite

Deer&Doe : la jupe Azara

24 September 2017

Après Givre, je vous présente ma version d’Azara, le deuxième patron de la dernière collection de Deer&Doe, que j’ai réalisée peu après sa sortie.

Lire la suite